The People vs. Robot King

This is not going to be one of my whinier posts, despite what the title would lead you to believe. I don’t have anyone in my life. I don’t mean that I don’t have friends or family, only that I often find myself having an argument in which I’m the only one to stick up for my position. I got into an argument on Facebook (where else?) with an opinionated friend and her frankly overbearing boyfriend over Breaking Bad, and while I can’t say that I was surprised that the two of them dogpiled on top of me, I was somewhat annoyed that no matter what I do, I always seem to be cast in the role of the mouthy asshole. Honestly, I’m not that difficult of a human being. But when two or more people argue with one person, they act as a tag team. One starts spewing one kind of bullshit, and when I call that person out on it, they withdraw and the other one starts spewing a new kind of bullshit, and on and on. It’s like Whack-a-Mole, but with assholes instead of rodents. I suppose I should expect that when I go onto someone else’s page and argue with them. Then again, why do they post controversial shit if they don’t want to get called out on it? I’m not even a big fan of Breaking Bad; I just think anyone who says the show is repetitive, boring, and predictable is clearly going out of their way to stir shit up. And what pissed off my friend more than anything was that she succeeded.

Let’s talk about Doctor Who. It’s been weeks since I’ve mentioned it, and I think that’s because I haven’t been as obsessed with it lately as I normally am. Part of what marks a good cultural phenomenon is its ability to stir up interest in stuff only tangentially related to what made it popular in the first place. Twilight started out as a series of (shitty) novels, then became a blockbuster film series, along with board games and lots of other idiotic nonsense. Star Trek was only one TV show at first, then became two, three, four, and five (or six, if you count The Animated Series), along with a series of films, video games, comics, and other shit. Doctor Who is a big enough deal to me that I’ve sunk quite a lot of money into the extended universe, and since there’s no limit to the number of stories that can be told about a centuries-old alien with a machine that can take him anywhere in space and time, it’s no surprise that there’s a long line of “audio adventures” (basically radio plays) that feature not only the Doctors themselves reprising their roles from the TV series, but some of the supporting actors in their own spinoff series. They’re not all good, but the best are every bit as good as the high points of the TV show(s) (and are written by many of the same writers), and since I tend not to take the audio adventures as seriously as the stuff that I can watch. It’s comfort food, really. I can listen to this stuff at the gym and while doing chores. The problem is that since it’s a far more specialized area of interest than the TV show, finding people who are into it as well is difficult. (Keep in mind that I don’t even like many of my fellow Whovians to begin with.) Oh, there’s a community all right. I’ve found one or two helpful-looking websites. It just takes a while to find my way.

Benedict Cumberbatch is in the new Star Trek movie. It's just fun to say his name, that's all.

Benedict Cumberbatch is in the new Star Trek movie. It’s just fun to say his name, that’s all.

As I write this, I’m spending the holiday with my family. It’s nice, although it can get tiring after a while. I’m not going to say anymore about that for now…

Going on vacation is tricky. You spend all semester (or season, or whatever) waiting to have a few weeks (a month, in my case) off, but once it begins, you wonder what to do with yourself. I used to feel self-conscious about wiling away an entire morning reading the comments section on one of my favorite websites, although these days I recognize that everyone needs time to do useless bullshit. It’s not that useless anyway, and I’m usually more prepared to do productive shit later on. Still, it’s easy to feel lethargic. All these books to read and movies to see, and where to begin? The hardest part always is getting started.

Something really annoying just happened. I got a call from a debt collection agency claiming that I owed them $800 for a car I’d scraped back in April. The dude whose car I’d scraped had said something to the effect of, “It’s a rental car, and it’s insured, so don’t worry about it.” But when he returned the car, he just gave the agency my phone number and said I’d take care of it. For some reason, it took them months to track me down. If I’d paid for it back in April, my father would have had to cover it, as I was flat broke at the time, but since I have a little bit of money in my pocket (thanks to all of the fucking student loans I’ve taken out), I paid for it. Sometimes I really hate being responsible. Honestly, I probably could have just sped away and gotten away with it. Now I’m being punished (effectively) for doing the right thing. I think I’ll go murder some orphans to assuage my anger.

Life would be so much easier if everyone were as awesome as I am. And if you think that’s arrogant, go fuck yourself.

Leave a Reply

