Table for One

I don’t comment much on the articles I read on the internet. I read message boards sometimes but rarely, if ever, post. For me, it all depends on whether or not people get my sense of humor. There’s a bit of a mob-like mentality to the way that some people behave on the internet. Say something that can be easily misinterpreted, and suddenly, everyone is lined up against you, eager to shame the alleged fascist/terrorist/whatever. Say something that sounds nice but means nothing, and you can have everybody cheering you on just because they want to feel good about themselves. I’m tired of people saying that you shouldn’t have political discussions on Facebook. How is Facebook different from anywhere else? I get that communicating in print (or cyberspace) can be difficult for those who are used to face-to-face communication, but that’s the fault of their writing skills, not the medium. I’m quite used to writing something out rather than saying it, so I’m sick of people starting interesting conversations, then pulling out the instant they start to get good. Don’t post something political if you aren’t prepared to debate it, because that’s cowardly and shitty and I see through it.

Star Wars Day was Saturday. A little over a year ago, I shelled out close to $100 just to get my hands on a copy of the original versions of the original trilogy rather than those awful 90s “special editions”. The trilogy has been released on DVD at least four or five times now, but only one of those sets contains the unremastered versions. I have no interest in watching Greedo shoot first or a shockingly out-of-place CGI musical number at Jabba’s palace. The films were fine as they were. George Lucas did lean a little too heavily on spectacle and kid-friendly humor towards the end, but even Return of the Jedi contains more than its share of rich visuals and powerful moments. As a kid, I even teared up during the scenes where Luke is forced to fight Vader even though he clearly does not want to. But even the set I own still has the remastered versions. The original ones are on the bonus discs. Okay, George, we get it, you want to make everyone forget why they liked you in the first place. Well, I won’t. In a way, this is a political statement. You have to move on, George. More importantly, you have to let people decide for themselves which way they like their Star Wars. I am willing to go way out of my way to avoid seeing whoever played the ghost of Luke’s father in 1983 digitally replaced by Hayden Christensen. Because I hate Hayden Christensen that much.

I try not to eat out too often. It used to be financial constraints that kept me from doing so, but now, it’s just a matter of convenience. Who has the time to leave their house and head down to a restaurant to eat two or three times a day? Even if you’re getting take-out or even delivery, sometimes it is simpler just to heat up or cook something. Food that is prepared by someone else is not automatically better, even though it often feels that way just because of some grass-is-greener kind of bias that we have. I grew up eating my mother’s cooking (as did most of us), and I grew used to her food, but never fell in love with it. She had a handful of recipes that she rotated, and I learned to appreciate them. I still haven’t managed to do that in my own life, however, although I have discovered that there are some dishes (tacos, for example) that are very easy to make but taste delicious. Others, like this one, can take some time to prepare, but are really quite good. Also, there’s French Dip. It’s hard to screw that up.

The school year is ending. I still have a lot of projects to complete, but at the same time, I’m finally getting around to so many of the books, movies, and TV shows that I’ve been neglecting all this time. But since I still have work to do, I’m caught in that uncomfortable state of alternating between cramming for exams then hanging around trying to work up the energy to get started on that paper once the exam is done. Plus, I have all sorts of end-of-the-year celebrations to attend/most likely skip. So there’s that. There is no doubt in my mind that I have gotten better at economics since I started here, going as I have from having almost no understanding of it to a very rudimentary understanding of it. What’s strangest is this nagging feeling that someday, I will understand it very well. I guess that gives me something to work toward. Also, since one of the books I need to finish is A Storm of Swords, I’ll just go ahead and post this picture. It’s sad that the other Lannisters are such dumbfucks, because man, they would all be dead if it weren’t for Tyrion.

I wish this were real.

I wish this were real.

There is no way I would have made it through these past two semesters without my economics T.A., who single-handedly picked up all the slack left by a professor who frankly seems kind of indifferent to teaching. I heard from one of his colleagues that he was very ambitious when he started, but grew disillusioned/just plain bored over time. I hope that doesn’t happen to me. Off-topic, but I think I might learn a little about country music this summer. It’s not my thing, but I’m so tired of the way that everyone else hates it just because it’s cool to do so. I have a lot of shit to do right now. I’m just hoping I don’t lose too much sleep over it.

Sometimes, you have to just let it all out.

Leave a Reply

