The Rules of the Game

I think I posted this video already, but it’s a good song. I haven’t traveled much, but I mean to someday. Three countries interest me, for whatever reason: Germany, Japan, and Australia. There are others I’d like to visit, but those are the ones that really pique my curiosity. I think we can safely say that there is nowhere else in the world quite like them. For two of them, I will have to learn the language before I go there. (Eh, probably for Australia, too, come to think of it. What’s up with this “G’day, mate” shit?) The problem with Germany is that everybody there already speaks English better than you do, and maybe it’s just me, but I think there’s something vaguely condescending about the way that Europeans view our attempts to learn their languages. (“Oh, look at the Americans. They do try so hard, don’t they?”) Yes, I know you guys all learn fifteen languages before you’re 30, but we have more nukes, so show some respect, okay?

My computer, as it turns out, is busted. I went back into I.T., and after over an hour, they concluded that the virus(es) were not the only problem, but the hardware. In order to fix the thing, I’d have to get a new hard drive, then install it, which would be difficult, as my computer is not built in such a way that the hard drive is easily accessible. I’d either have to learn a lot about computer construction to do it or pay somebody else to do it, and either option would require time or money that I don’t have. On the upside, this means that my failure to install functioning antivirus software was not solely responsible for the breakdown. For all I know, the computer might have stopped working even with Norton up and running, although that probably didn’t help. When my computer first stopped working (which it did, completely and very suddenly), I intuitively surmised that there was more going on here than a simple virus. I was right. Now I have to get a new computer, for which I will almost certainly require some financial aid from my parents, which my father seems almost perversely eager to provide. Oh, joy.

I am actually getting pretty good at living without a computer. I do a lot of surfing at work (I know, I know) and the rest in the evenings or on weekends at the library. At home, I can do basic things on my mp3 player. So it’s not impossible to continue living without a computer for the foreseeable future. Mainly, I just have to get used to finding other shit to do while at home and watching movies and TV shows at the library. I have to plan for this big move to Brooklyn, see. It could cost money. And it might take time to find the right place, although I’ve got one or two likely prospects already. I’m not too worried about finding a place before the end of the month, though, as pretty much everyone is moving there. I guess I could end up smack dab in the middle of Hipsterville, but since I’m not a hipster, I would kind of prefer to be right next door to it. Brooklyn is just so much more laid back than Manhattan. And despite the housing boom, it’s not that hard to find places that are nicer and/or cheaper than my current one. So it’s a no-brainer that I would want to live there. I just have to determine whether I’m being too picky or not picky enough.

brooklyn bridge

Speaking of which, I think I let an opportunity slip through my fingers. See, I’m used to taking a few days to think about it before saying yes to an apartment. I believe most of us are. Brooklyn, of course, is booming right now, what with all the young hipster professional cool artist types moving there right now and shit. When I looked at a place on Sunday, I decided that I liked it a lot, but didn’t want to say yes right away, because I wanted to see what else was out there. The realtor said that was fine. Then I called him up on Wednesday and told him I was interested. He didn’t respond. I texted him yesterday. He ignored that as well. Given how prompt he was at responding to my messages last weekend, I’m going to go ahead and assume that he gave the place to someone else and is too lazy to tell me. That makes me very angry. See, if he knew that the place was going to be snatched up that quickly, he should have said so. Then I could have gotten him his money within a day or so so that the place would really be mine. Instead, he just gave it to someone else. I hate realtors. More importantly, I hate people. And I’ll have to go back to Brooklyn this weekend or next to look at more places, and this time, I’ll have to bring my checkbook. Because I am all alone and nobody cares about me.

There is too much else to talk about to fit into one post, so I’ll leave you with this thought: I’m not sure why, but even though I’m not a fan of Lady Gaga, I like what other people have done with her work. There’s this (all-male) a cappella choir doing “Poker Face”…

…this string quartet version of “Bad Romance” (which sounds like an excerpt from the Sherlock score)…

…and this historically-themed take on “Bad Romance”, which is really kind of awesome.

Don’t worry about me. And fuck you all.

Leave a Reply

